External Awards

Innovation Award

Winner: Ken Nakamura^{†1} and Mitsuo Ikeda^{†2} †1 NTT Cyber Space Laboratories †2 NTT Electronics Corporation Date: June 17, 2008

Organization: Japan Institute of Invention and Innovation

For "1-chip MPEG-2 codec LSI".

This invention enables parallel encoding of segmented HDTV video signals and the fabrication of single-chip LSIs to achieve smallsized, low-power encoders that can be used to provide HDTV services. It has the potential to speed up the installation of HDTV encoders in broadcast stations, thus contributing significantly to an explosive spread in the provision of current HDTV services.

The Meritorious Award on Radio presented by the Chairman of the Board of ARIB

Winner: Toshihiro Tsuchida^{†1}, Toshihiro Serita^{†2}, Yutaka Moriai^{†3}, and Yukio Shiota^{†4}

- †1 NTT Access Network Service Systems Laboratories
- †2 NTT Communications Corporation
- †3 Space Communications Corporation
- †4 JSAT Corporation

Date: June 18, 2008

Organization: The Association of Radio Industries and Businesses (ARIB)

For contributions to the development of Ku-band maritime broadband satellite communication systems of earth stations on vessels (ESV).

The winners greatly contributed to effective use of frequencies by overcoming radio regulation and technical problems for the Ku-band maritime broadband satellite communication systems of earth stations on vessels and by putting into practical use a system that enabled two-way communication of up to 6 Mbit/s.