# **External Awards**

# **Honorable Mention Award**

Winners: Hiroki Koyama, Chiba Institute of Technology; Yuuna Nakagawa, Chiba Institute of Technology; Shigeaki Tanimoto, Chiba Institute of Technology; Teruo Endo, Osaka Shoin Women's University; Takashi Hatashima, NTT Social Informatics Laboratories; and Atsushi Kanai, Hosei University

# Date: July 2, 2022

Organization: International Institute of Applied Informatics (IIAI)

For "A Study of Risk Assessment Quantification for Secure Telework."

**Published as:** H. Koyama, Y. Nakagawa, S. Tanimoto, T. Endo, T. Hatashima, and A. Kanai, "A Study of Risk Assessment Quantification for Secure Telework," Proc. of the 12th International Congress on Advanced Applied Informatics (IIAI-AAI 2022), pp. 574–580, Kanazawa, Japan, July 2022.

## **Best Paper Award**

Winners: Wataru Kobayashi, NTT Device Technology Laboratories; Shigeru Kanazawa, NTT Device Innovation Center; Takahiko Shindo, NTT Device Innovation Center; Manabu Mitsuhara, NTT Device Technology Laboratories; Fumito Nakajima, NTT Device Technology Laboratories

Date: July 6, 2022

**Organization:** The 27th OptoElectronics and Communications Congerence (OECC 2022)

For "1.5 pJ/bit, 128 Gb/s, 50°C Operation of AXEL for Short Reach Application."

**Published as:** W. Kobayashi, S. Kanazawa, T. Shindo, M. Mitsuhara, and F. Nakajima, "1.5 pJ/bit, 128 Gb/s, 50°C Operation of AXEL for Short Reach Application," OECC 2022, WD1-2, Toyama, Japan, July 2022.

#### **Best Paper Award**

Winners: Tomoyuki Kato, Fujitsu Ltd.; Hidenobu Muranaka, Fujitsu Ltd.; Yu Tanaka, Fujitsu Ltd.; Yuichi Akiyama, Fujitsu Ltd.; Takeshi Hoshida, Fujitsu Ltd.; Shimpei Shimizu, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories; Takayuki Kobayashi, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories; Takushi Kazama, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories/ NTT Device Technology Laboratories; Takeshi Umeki, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories; Kei Watanabe, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories/NTT Device Technology Laboratories; Yutaka Miyamoto, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories

Date: July 13, 2022 Organization: OECC 2022

For "WDM Transmission in S-band Using PPLN-based Wavelength Converters and 400-Gb/s C-band Real-time Transceivers." **Published as:** T. Kato, H. Muranaka, Y. Tanaka, Y. Akiyama, T. Hoshida, S. Shimizu, T. Kobayashi, T. Kazama, T. Umeki, K. Watanabe, and Y. Miyamoto, "WDM Transmission in S-band Using PPLN-based Wavelength Converters and 400-Gb/s C-band Real-time Transceivers," OECC 2022, WA3-4, Toyama, Japan, July 2022.

### Young Researcher Award

Winner: Tatsuya Iizuka, NTT Space Environment and Energy Laboratories

Date: July 15, 2022

Organization: Information Processing Society of Japan (IPSJ)

For "Corner-reflector-based Chipless RFID for Wide Range Readout with Low Power Millimeter Wave Radar."

**Published as:** T. Iizuka, T. Sasatani, N. Kosaka, M. Hisada, K. Narumi, and Y. Kawahara, "Corner-reflector-based Chipless RFID for Wide Range Readout with Low Power Millimeter Wave Radar," Proc. of Multimedia, Distributed, Cooperative, and Mobile Symposium (DICOMO) 2022, 5H-3, pp. 1085–1091, July 2022.

#### **IPSJ Yamashita SIG Research Award**

Winner: Toshiki Shibahara, NTT Social Informatics Laboratories Date: July 29, 2022

Organization: IPSJ

For "Privacy Risk of Differentially Private Bayesian Neural Network."

**Published as:** T. Shibahara, T. Miura, M. Kii, and A. Ichikawa, "Privacy Risk of Differentially Private Bayesian Neural Network," Proc. of Computer Security Symposium 2021, pp. 245–252, Oct. 2021.

## **Best Paper Award**

Winners: Xuejun Xu, NTT Basic Research Laboratories; Masaya Hiraishi, University of Otago; Tomohiro Inaba, NTT Basic Research Laboratories; Tai Tsuchizawa, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology; Atsushi Ishizawa, Nihon University; Haruki Sanada, NTT Basic Research Laboratories; Takehiko Tawara, Nihon University; Jevon Longdell, University of Otago; Katsuya Oguri, NTT Basic Research Laboratories; and Hideki Gotoh, NTT Basic Research Laboratories; Miroshima University

Date: August 3, 2022

**Organization:** The 15th Conference on Laser and Electro-Optics Pacific Rim (CLEO-PR 2022)

For "Erbium-doped Rare-Earth Oxide Thin Film Waveguides for Integrated Quantum Photonic Devices."

**Published as:** X. Xu, M. Hiraishi, T. Inaba, T. Tsuchizawa, A. Ishizawa, H. Sanada, T. Tawara, J. Longdell, K. Oguri, and H. Gotoh, "Erbium-doped Rare-Earth Oxide Thin Film Waveguides for Integrated Quantum Photonic Devices," CLEO-PR 2022, July/August 2022.

# **Oral Talks Award**

Winner: Motoki Asano, NTT Basic Research Laboratories Date: August 11, 2022

**Organization:** The 18th International Workshop on Nanomechanical Sensing (NMC2022)

For "An Optomechanical Prober in Liquid with Twin Microbottle Resonators."

**Published as:** M. Asano, H. Yamaguchi, and H. Okamoto, "An Optomechanical Prober in Liquid with Twin Microbottle Resonators," NMC2022, Aug. 2022.