To view PDF files

You need Adobe Reader 7.0 or later in order to read PDF files on this site.
If Adobe Reader is not installed on your computer, click the button below and go to the download site.

External Awards


International Workshop on Nitride Semiconductors 2012 Best Paper Award

Winners: Yoshitaka Taniyasu†1, Jean-François Carlin†2, Antonino Castiglia†2, Raphaël Butté†2, and Nicolas Grandjean†2

†1 NTT Basic Research Laboratories

†2 Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

Date: October 19, 2012

Organization: International Workshop on Nitride Semiconductors

For “AlInN/GaN MQW UV-LEDs”.

Among III-Nitride semiconductors, the AlInN can only be grown lattice-matched to GaN. The lattice-matched AlInN/GaN structure should be free from cracks and strain-driven defects, which limit the performance of UV/Visible LEDs and LDs using conventional lattice-mismatched AlGaN/GaN and InGaN/GaN structures. In addition, the AlInN/GaN structure has a larger bandgap discontinuity and a larger refractive index contrast, which more strongly confine the injected carriers in the quantum wells and the emitted light in the active region. Thus, the AlInN/GaN structures are expected not only to improve the device properties but also to increase the design flexibility for novel III-nitride devices. Here we report the achievement of p-type doping in AlInN and describe AlInN-based light-emitting devices.

Fellowship in the American Physical Society

Winner: William John Munro, NTT Basic Research Laboratories

Date: November 3, 2012

Organization: American Physical Society

For his extensive contributions to applied quantum information.